Magic, a gathering.

June 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

So this weekend marks the 4th, I think, Game Day. Which basically involves myself, ChoccyR and Hand Springs getting together to play some Magic, go see a shed load of films and set the world to rites. As I’m writing this it occurs to me how much of a geek I really am, I’ve become one of those people I used to take the piss out of at school. But I’ve got to admit, I’m kind of reveling in it, the geek culture that is not the bullying. Magic aside getting together with some old friends is perhaps what its all about. And as for Magic the Gathering, don’t knock it until you’ve tried it. There’s nothing better than fucking somebody over when they’ve backed you into a corner and pulling our some mind blowing combo to wipe the smile off their face, even amongst friends. When instances like these do occur we kind of have this hushed reverence for the player that pulled it off, a look I guess that just says ‘well done sir, well done’.

So ahead of this weeks marathon I decided to freshen up my decks. This is a lot more fun than it sounds, deck building is perhaps one of the most enjoyable and cathartic things about MTG. I managed to make a few more decks but ended up having to buy another deck builder  because I ran out of lands. Oh and there is nothing better in this world than opening a booster, its like Christmas. I’m sure that’s a belief widely held by most Magic players but I had to put it out there. I’m not a massive player, I don’t go to Friday Night Magic or anything, mainly because I’m afraid of getting my ass handed to me by 12 year olds, but I do like a game.

The thing that really got me into it was, aside from my Pokemon phase back in the day, I picked up Magic the Gathering: Duels of the Plainwalkers on Xbox Live Arcade.

We (ChoccyR and Hand Springs) decided we might give it a bash in RL, and that little anecdote has led me to this point. We took a bit of a break from it for a while in between the release of the first arcade title and Magic 2012 which was released a couple of weeks ago. Picking it up again reignited my passion for it, Chocs as well I think, as we bother went out and bought some new cards. We’re still waiting on Hand Springs but he’s been mentioning it.

We’re going to be watching a couple of films this weekend as well: Transformers 3, Bridesmaids and maybe Green Lantern. I’m not expecting great things from either Transformers or Green Lantern but Bridesmaids looks hella funny. I’m looking forward to Kristen Wiig’s performance (she was awesome in Whip It) as well as Jon Hamm’s cameo. I’ll report back once I’ve seen them.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Magic, a gathering. at The Art Crawl.

meta